Crest of the Royal National Institution of Naval Architects - Click to return to the homepage


MarintechChina Until June 2022

Hybrid Expo

SMM May_June 2022


International Registries May 2022

Air Products May 2022

Maritime Safety Award

The Institution believes that the safety of both the seafarer and the maritime environment begins with good design, followed by sound construction and efficient operation.   Whilst naval architects and other engineers involved in the design, construction and operation of maritime vessels and structures do not have a patent on such issues, nonetheless their work can make a significant contribution.

The Institution also believes that it has a role to play in recognising achievement of engineers in improving safety at sea and the protection of the maritime environment. Such recognition serves to raise awareness and promote further improvements.

The Maritime Safety Award is presented by the Institution, in association with Lloyd’s Register, to an individual, company or organisation which has made a significant technological contribution to improving maritime safety or the protection of the maritime environment.  Such contribution can have been made either by a specific activity or over a period of time.  Nominations may be made by any member of the global maritime community, and are judged by a panel of members of the Institution and Lloyd’s Register.  The Award will be announced at the Institution’s Annual Dinner.

2021 Maritime Safety Award

Nominations are now invited for the 2021 Maritime Safety Award.  Individuals may not nominate themselves, although employees may nominate their company or organisation.

Nominations may be up to 750 words and should describe the technological contribution which the individual, company or organisation has made in the field of design, construction and operation of maritime vessels and structures, 

Nominations may be forwarded online at by clicking here to fill out a nomination form or by email to   

Nominations should arrive at RINA Headquarters by 31 January 2022. The Award winner will be announced at the Institution’s 2022 Annual Dinner

Queries about the Award should be forwarded to the Chief Executive at

Previous Awards

2011  |  2012  |  2013 2014  |  2015  |  2016 | 2017