Crest of the Royal National Institution of Naval Architects - Click to return to the homepage


Europort Aug-Nov 2021

Palfinger September 2021


Cadmatic September 2021

Seawork_October 2021

Annual General Meeting - 3 March 2021

Valerio in his fourth and final Chair’s Report (circulated to members by email prior to the meeting), touched on some of the highlights of 2020, which included two joint technical meetings with the IMarEST (ACT & NSW Branch) pre-COVID-19, and eight webinars, with attendances varying between 400 (‼!) for Levi Catton’s presentation on Design and Construction of the RAN's New Hunter-class Frigates, and 28 for Bruce Cartwright’s presentation on Structural Integrity of Ships. SMIX Bash 2020 was, unfortunately, cancelled due to the COVID-19 restrictions, but we have booked James Craig for SMIX Bash 2021.
Adrian Broadbent in his Treasurer’s Report (circulated to members by email prior to the meeting), advised that with technical presentations last year mostly by webinar, we have had minimal expenses, and so our bank balance has improved somewhat. SMIX Bash is funded separately through the Social account which currently has a healthy balance which enables preliminary arrangements for SMIX Bash 2021.
There is a number of changes to the NSW Committee for 2021. Rob Tulk has resigned from the Committee due to the pressure of other things. Nominations were called for and Greg Byrne put his hand up, and was elected unopposed to the Committee. Valerio Corniani has served his full four-year term as Chair of the Section and has stepped down. Belinda Tayler has accepted the position as Chair, thus becoming the first female chair of an Australian Section of RINA; a trailblazer!

As a result, the committee for 2021 is as follows:

    Chair: Belinda Tayler
    Deputy Chair: Phil Helmore
    Treasurer: Adrian Broadbent
    Secretary: Jason Steward
    AD Council Nominee: Adrian Broadbent
    Auditor: David Wong
    TM Program Coordinator: Phil Helmore
    Members: Craig Boulton
                     John Butler
                     Greg Byrne
                     Valerio Corniani
                     Molly McManus
                     Alan Taylor


RINA membership

Metstrade June 2021 New

Lloyds Academy Button July 2021

Uni Stratchclyde June 2021

Teinbridge Propeller

Seawork_October Button 2021