Crest of the Royal National Institution of Naval Architects - Click to return to the homepage


MarintechChina Until June 2022

Hybrid Expo

SMM May_June 2022


International Registries May 2022

Air Products May 2022

Eily Keary Award


The Royal Institution of Naval Architects was founded in 1860, but it was not until 1919 that the first woman was admitted as a member of the Institution. Today, 100 years’ later, women members of the Institution occupy a wide range of appointments in the maritime industry, academia and organisations world-wide, in both engineering and non-engineering roles. Their number and achievements continue to grow.

The first woman to become a member of the Institution was Eily Keary, and it has been decided to commemorate this significant event in the Institution’s history by the introduction of an annual Eily Keary Award.

The Royal Institution of Naval Architects is committed to ensuring that all individuals, regardless of gender, faith or ethnicity, have equal opportunity to participate fully in all the Institution’s activities. The Institution also seeks to encourage such equality of opportunity and involvement throughout the global maritime industry.

The annual Eily Keary Award will recognises the contribution by an individual, organisation or part of an organisation to increasing equality, diversity and inclusion in their sector of the maritime industry.


Nominations are now invited for the 2021 Eily Keary Award. Nominations should describe the contribution made towards enhancing equality, diversity and inclusion in the maritime sector, in line with the Eily Keary Award criteria that is available here. Individuals may not nominate themselves, although employees may nominate their company or organisation. 

Nominations may be up to 750 words and should describe the contribution made towards enhancing equality, diversity and inclusion in the maritime sector.

Nominations may be forwarded online by clicking here to fill out a nomination form or by email to   

Nominations should arrive at RINA Headquarters by 31 January 2022. The Award winner will be announced at the Institution’s 2022 Annual Dinner

Queries about the Award should be forwarded to the Chief Executive at

Previous Awards

2019 - Natalie Desty AssocRINA
2020 - Catherine Ingram MRINA