Crest of the Royal National Institution of Naval Architects - Click to return to the homepage

The Royal Institute of Naval Architects

Board of Trustees, Council, Regions and Committees

Board of Trustees

Chairman:  Professor Richard Birmingham

Vice Chairman:  Mr Nicholas Pattison

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of the Institution, responsible for the governance and management of the Institution as directed in the By Laws. Trustees are appointed from Members of Council.  The President of the Institution is the ex officio Chairman of the Board of Trustees

Duties of the Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees Forum (Board members only).


President:  Professor Richard Birmingham

The Council is responsible for communicating the views of the Institution’s members to the Board of Trustees, and for providing guidance and advice to the Board on all matters related to the professional activities of the Institution.  

Members' countries are grouped into Regions. Members of Council are elected from and by the Regions.  A member of Council from a Region will be appointed as a Vice President for the Region, to represent the Institution and views of the members in the Region.

The duties of the Council are listed in the By Laws.

Council Forum (Council members only)

Standing Committees

The Institution's Standing Committees act on behalf of Council on all routine matters relating to their areas of delegated responsibility. They provide guidance to Council and speak on behalf of Council when called upon to do so.

Standing Committees

Standing Committees cover the following areas of Institution activity:

Maritime Safety | Maritime Environment | Maritime Innovation  | IMO |  Professional AffairsMembershipPublications | Discipline


RINA membership


Lloyds Academy March 120x120

Seatrade Informa March

Teinbridge Propeller

SIG & SMALL promo

IMPA button