Crest of the Royal National Institution of Naval Architects - Click to return to the homepage


MarintechChina Until June 2022

Hybrid Expo

SMM May_June 2022


International Registries May 2022

Air Products May 2022

 2011 Maritime Safety Award

Sponsored by the Royal Institution of Naval Architects and Lloyds Register, the 2011 RINA-LR Maritime Safety Award was presented to the Engineering and Supply Department of the Royal National Lifeboat Institution for their innovative work in ensuring and improving the safety of its lifeboats.  The Award recognises that through this innovation, the Department provides for the safety of not only their volunteer crews, but also that of the many people rescued each year by the Institution. 

2012 RINA53The Award was presented at the Institution’s recent Annual Dinner by Peter French, President of the Royal Institution of Naval Architects, Tom Boardley, Marine Director of Lloyd’s Register  and Tim Kent, Marine Technology Director at Lloyd’s Register, to David Brook, RNLI Engineering and Supply Director.

Chief Executive of the Royal Institution of Naval Architects, Trevor Blakeley, said “  The Institution is very pleased to join with Lloyd’s Register in presenting this Award which recognises achievement of engineers in improving safety at sea and the protection of the maritime environment.  The Award places the emphasis on technological contribution, and provides an opportunity for any member of the global maritime industry to nominate a recipient for the Award. There can be, perhaps, no greater recognition than that by one’s peers.  Those members of the maritime community who are aware of, or even experienced it first hand, will applaud this recognition of the work of the RNLI”

Other short listed nominations were:

CMI Marine AB, for the invention and manufacture of products to increase the onboard safety of vessels, and for the protection of the maritime environment

Intelligent Engineering, for their development and commercialisation of their Sandwich Plate System

Professor Chengi Kuo, for his active involvement in maritime safety for over 40 years

James Peachey, for his major contribution maritime safety as the architect of the Formal Safety Assessment  process initially developed under his leadership at the Maritime Safety Agency

Sea Fish Industry Authority for its contribution to improved fishing vessel safety through the introduction of a damage control kit and training course.

The Ship Stability Research Centre, Strathclyde University, for its profound influence on the maritime industry, through its work ranging from philosophical to research, regulatory, design and operational aspects.

Professor  Dracos Vassalos, for the development, improvement and ground breaking work on the survivability of ships and in particular passenger ships, over 20 years.

Professor Jin Wang, for his achievements in maritime safety research over 20 years

Houlder & BMT Nigel Gee,  for the introduction of their Turbine Access System - a highly innovative improvement to H&S within the offshore renewables sector

Keppel FELS, for their continuing commitment to improving safety in the design and construction of advanced offshore rigs.

RINA membership

Cyber Security On Demand Button

Teinbridge Propeller

Euronaval Apr - Oct 2022

Uni Stratchclyde June 2021

Metstrade May 2022